It’s On!!

Anger. Forgiveness. Opposite ends of the emotional spectrum.

   My terminal has over 200 employees and drivers. Our parking lot is small and people are always waiting on a spot as it’s a 24 hr operation and shifts come and go. This morning I pulled past a spot to back into a spot…upon shifting into reverse I saw a red Honda race into the spot behind me…WTF ITS ON!!😡 I sat for a minute deciding if I could control my actions if I jumped out and yelled at this guy. I saw him climb out he briefly looked my way and averted. I knew this guy! I had talked to him before about taking my assigned company truck during my shift…TWICE. No I could not get out. My truck left a couple black strips as I gently drove to the other end of the parking lot. I could see him peering over and through the cars, yes he understood. 

   As I began work I struggled with my normal course of action, confrontation. I hate injustice and corner cutting with a passion. It’s not right especially when I’m wronged. Yet, the changes in my heart as of late picked away at that anger. Thoughts of forgiveness crept in. Then understanding. Finally compassion. This guy lives a life cutting corners, scrapping for every edge he can get. He doesn’t realize this lifestyle doesn’t get him ahead but puts him further behind. His misery is enough, and I couldn’t say or do a thing that would promote remorse. Even forgiveness would do little for his rat race. But forgiveness Would free me from bitterness’s poison. 

   Anger. Forgiveness. They are opposites but they teach the same thing. Love is supreme. 

Come out of the darkness and Love today.

-AH-

Leave a comment